Skip to content

May 20, 2011

The Elevator

by lukestrawn

This week we brought one of my favorite people in the world, Petey Parker, to be our guest speaker at our all company meeting.  If you want to see some of what she does visit www.blog.peteyparker.com  My hope in doing this is that it would help our associates, employees, and business partners get energized.  I think it did for many people, but I don’t know that anyone got more out of it than I did.  Whenever I hear a really good speaker I take a lot of notes.  Then I usually put them away for a day or two and then go back to them.  The magical part of doing this is that something new usually occurs to me later on.  Well it did today big time.   One of the things she talked about was how important it is (especially in sales) to have a great two to three sentence elevator speech.  Have you ever heard anyone that is really good at this?  Its really powerful.  I realized this was a huge shortcoming of mine, but in the words of Stuart Smalley (you know the character from Saturday Night Live).  I am good enough, smart enough and doggone it people like me.  Here is what I used to say when someone asked me what I did,  “I am in management for McGraw Realtors”.  Seriously how boring and corporate does that sound?  Here is my new one “I am an executive for the Number 1 real estate company in town, McGraw Realtors.  Its my job to make our associates and ancillary businesses reach heights they didn’t know were possible.”  So I am looking for free feedback.  What do you think?

Funny kid story of the week.  Mack has taken to wearing a rubberband on his head.  This has been going on for a few days.  He will bring you a rubberband and then hit your leg until you put it on his head.  My sister thinks maybe he has a future as a tennis player.  I think he knows it makes Paige and I laugh everytime we look at him.   Here is a pic.

Read more from Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

